Real Techniques – Deluxe Gift Set Brushes Review

As a newbie makeup blogger I’ve been stocking up my makeup arsenal with different brands and tools that can help me with my photo-shoots. Makeup brushes are at the core of makeup because it’s very important for the final look, brushes help spread the product out evenly and gives precision with application.

Where I purchased the brushes:

My sister got these brushes from a website called iherb.com, they are a U.S based site that ships internationally, so that does mean the shipping charges are a bit high. Shipping takes a while for iherb, this package took 8 days to arrive. Amazon.in also sells them, and most are amazon fulfilled so it’s trustworthy (according to me.) Even Nykaa sells a few collections on their website!

3

This is my favorite brush from the set! It really is good at multitasking as I use it as a blush brush, foundation brush, or powder brush. The bristles are VERY soft, so it’s gentle on the skin, it’ll make you want to put on makeup all the time. The blend-ability is really good and helps in effortless application of blush, powders, foundation, etc. Product pickup is good on this as most of the time I have to dab off the excess, and it RT does sell a separate blush brush, buffing brush, etc. but this set is more of a ‘starter’ kit with a little bit of all their collections.

Rating 4.5/5

2

This brush is super dense and that’s the problem. It requires a lot of pressure in order to spread the foundation which is not good for your skin, especially since it’s ideally for under eye application. I don’t use this brush as much as the others, it’s not very good for heavy (liquid) foundation or concealer because it basically doesn’t help to blend it onto the skin. I prefer using the RT beauty blender for applying my foundation/concealer. This is the only brush in the collection with dense bristles while the others have soft bristles.

Rating: 2.5/5

6

This specifically meant for highlighting the face, it’s broadly angled so you can easily accentuate certain areas of your face, but the brush is a little small to cover most large areas, so it works best when you want to highlight the nose or cupids bow.

Rating: 2.5/5

4

Again this is a great starter eye shadow brush. It takes up the product well and blends well on my eye lid. I wouldn’t solely depend on this brush for eye shadows as it’s good to have a few brushes for when you want to blend two colors, etc.

Rating: 4/5

5

I’m not a huge fan of liquid eyeliners so I haven’t use this for that purpose at all, but the bristles are very fine and small so it can probably be used to create a good cat-eye or wing. I sometimes use this to apply my lipstick as a lip-liner, just to outline my lips and then fill it in later.

Rating: 2.5/5

20160302-IMG_256920160302-IMG_2577

Overall review of brushes:

The RT brushes have long handles making them pretty sturdy, allowing for hassle-free use. They are fairly easy to clean but I recommend washing them often especially after heavy use just so that it makes the whole washing process easier. I have heard that after a while the bristles do start becoming curly and come off, but I haven’t experienced anything so far, if I do I’ll let you know. But I think that happens with most brushes after constant use, and at their affordable prices it’s a bargain.

The kit also comes with a white travel size clutch, but because it’s really pretty and white I hate putting my used brushes inside for fear that it’ll get dirty, so I use it only after I’ve cleaned them. Kinda pointless but the color is the only bad thing about the clutch!

I wanted to make a video about these brushes but instead I’ve written this blog and created a few short videos on how I used these brushes. You can see them on my Instagram, as I’ll be posting them throughout the week. Also do check out some oft he videos I have on my YouTube Channel: Nykaa Haul, Forest Essentials Pure Rose Water Toner.

Leave a Reply

